The official student news site of Coppell High School

Mari Pletta

Coppell junior defender Emma Hubert receives from the air against Irving Macarthur on Jan. 24 at Buddy Echols Field. Hubert is one of 12 Cowgirls awarded a District 6-6A award.

Girls soccer takes home all-district awards for unfinished season

Fourteen wins. Three ties. Two losses. 

For the nearly indomitable Cowgirls, the cancellation of the remainder of the 2019-20 season only left one question on their minds: what could have happened? Their undefeated preseason stance proved a marker for the rest of the season; it seemed Coppell had its state championship worthy team. In one of the toughest districts in the state, losing to only Flower Mound Marcus and Flower Mound in close matches was an indicator that Coppell would be a team to watch in their playoff run.

Instead, the closure Coppell got was in the form of personal accomplishment rather than the team’s. Twelve Cowgirls were selected to be a part of the All-District 6-6A team, one final recognition for this storybook of a season.

Alyssa Roemer – Honorable Mention All-District 6-6A Forward
Ellie Stewart – 2nd Team All-District 6-6A Midfielder
Emma Hubert – 2nd Team All-District 6-6A Defender
Chloe Phan – 2nd Team All-District 6-6A Defender
Maya Ozymy – 1st Team All-District 6-6A Midfielder
Bailey Peek – 1st Team All-District 6-6A Midfielder/Defender
Montse Lomeli – District 6-6A 1st Team All-District Midfielder
Haley Roberson – District 6-6A 1st Team All-District Defender
Addison Martin – District 6-6A 1st Team All-District Defender
Michelle Pak – District 6-6A Utility Player of the Year and 1st Team All-District 6-6A Midfielder/Forward
Jojo Alonzo – District 6-6A Midfielder of the Year and 1st Team District 6-6A Midfielder/Forward
Lauren Kellett – District 6-6A Goalkeeper of the Year and 1st Team All-District 6-6A Goalkeeper